Formula 1, Motorsports, News

Vettel wins first race of the season at the 2018 Australian Grand Prix[+video]

Even though Lewis Hamilton took pole position yesterday, it was Ferrari who stormed to first place in Australia as Sebastian Vettel took advantage of having a longer pit stop when the virtual safety car was called. This victory puts Vettel in the same ranks as Michael Schumacher, Alain Prost and Lewis Hamilton who have achieved 100 podiums.

Kimi Raikkonen finished in 3rd place just ahead of Daniel Ricciardo. The saddest part of the race was for Haas as both drivers had to retire when they were in fourth and fifth place due to a mechanical fault with the wheel gun.


Some interesting facts about the race from

  • As well as taking his second straight victory in Melbourne, Sebastian Vettel became just third man in F1 history to lead 3,000 laps in his career, after Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton
  • The German also scored his 100th F1 podium, becoming just the fourth driver to reach that milestone
  • Vettel’s ninth win in 60 starts for Ferrari equals Kimi Raikkonen’s tally for the team over 131 starts
  • For the fourth time in five years, Lewis Hamilton failed to convert an Australian pole into victory. From seven poles in Melbourne, the Briton has two wins
  • McLaren scored points for the first time in Melbourne since 2014. Alonso’s fifth place matched his best result in three years with Honda power, while the team’s tally of 12 points also matched the best they ever achieved with the
  • Japanese manufacturer over the same period
  • Haas had their second consecutive double DNF in Australia, while Force India failed to score points in Melbourne for the first time since 2009

Here are the final standings from the race.

1 5 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 58 1:29:33.283 25
2 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 58 +5.036s 18
3 7 Kimi Räikkönen FERRARI 58 +6.309s 15
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 58 +7.069s 12
5 14 Fernando Alonso MCLAREN RENAULT 58 +27.886s 10
6 33 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 58 +28.945s 8
7 27 Nico Hulkenberg RENAULT 58 +32.671s 6
8 77 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 58 +34.339s 4
9 2 Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN RENAULT 58 +34.921s 2
10 55 Carlos Sainz RENAULT 58 +45.722s 1
11 11 Sergio Perez FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 58 +46.817s 0
12 31 Esteban Ocon FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 58 +60.278s 0
13 16 Charles Leclerc SAUBER FERRARI 58 +75.759s 0
14 18 Lance Stroll WILLIAMS MERCEDES 58 +78.288s 0
15 28 Brendon Hartley SCUDERIA TORO ROSSO HONDA 57 +1 lap 0
NC 8 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 24 DNF 0
NC 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 22 DNF 0
NC 9 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 5 DNF 0
NC 35 Sergey Sirotkin WILLIAMS MERCEDES 4 DNF 0