Motorsports, News

F1 drivers get their own permanent numbers

F1 Grand Prix of Italy - Race

For this year, Formula One (F1) drivers have the luxury of choosing their own favorite numbers, following their two-wheel counterparts in the MotoGP. In that case, Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton and gang get to choose three preferred numeric choices, which likely based from their personal favorite number, the number from their former race cars prior F1, or maybe asking their spouse/girl friend’s for favorite number instead.

The governing body,FIA,has just recently published the numbers that each driver will race with during the 2014 Formula 1 season. The “numero uno” will be awarded to the driver who won last year’s driver’s championship. That having said, Sebastian Vettel has taken up the option of running with #1 after wiping out the other 21 drivers to become world champion of 2013, although interestingly the German has requested the use of #5 – only when someone dethrones him for the 2014’s crown. However, the entries from Lotus F1 and Marussia are still subject to confirmation, and Caterham F1 has yet to announce their drivers.

Grid numbers for the 2014 season:

1 – Sebastian Vettel
3 – Daniel Ricciardo
6 – Nico Rosberg
7 – Kimi Räikkönen
8 – Romain Grosjean
11 – Sergio Pérez
13 – Pastor Maldonado
14 – Fernando Alonso
17 – Jules Bianchi
19 – Felipe Massa
20 – Kevin Magnussen
21 – Esteban Gutiérrez
22 – Jenson Button
25 – Jean-Éric Vergne
26 – Daniil Kvyat
27 – Nico Hülkenberg
44 – Lewis Hamilton
77 – Valtteri Bottas
99 – Adrian Sutil

[Source: GPUpdate]