Formula 1, Motorsports, News

Hamilton secures Mercedes’ Constructor Championship at Austin

Even though Hamilton secured pole position in Saturday’s qualifying, yesterdays race started well for Sebastian Vettel where he managed to overtake Hamilton and take the lead of the race. He did so for only 5 laps before Hamilton caught up and overtook him. Hamilton then went on to win the race which led to Mercedes winning this year’s constructors title with 3 races left to go.

At the end of the line, Max Verstappen finished in 3rd place only to not be allowed up on the podium as stewards found that Max Verstappen’s last-lap pass illegal thus giving him a penalty which cost him his podium finish. The stewards deemed that a 5-second penalty was suitable for Verstappen as he left the track whilst overtaking Raikkonen. Both Hamilton and Vettel will battle it out in Mexico for the driver’s title next weekend.

Valtteri Bottas came in fifth followed by Esteban Ocon in the Force India and Sergio Perez and Carlos Sainz. The pit strategy was really on point for Mercedes which didn’t seem apparent for Hamilton when he went into the pit only to be caught up by Vettel again. He wasn’t really exactly thankful but only to know that later, Vettel had to pit in again on the 39th lap whilst the Mercedes kept on going.


Hamilton had a scare on the 20th lap as he emerged from what transpired to be his sole pit stop, and Vettel, who had stopped three laps earlier, had wiped out a 4.4s deficit and was almost right on him. Hamilton wasn’t amused and rebuked his team, but at the same time he quickly pulled away again, and when Vettel had to stop again on the 39th lap, it was also soon clear that Mercedes would not need to do the same.


Though Hamilton still needs nine points to secure the drivers’ title – just fifth place in Mexico next weekend will be enough – Mercedes cemented the constructors’ championship, and now have 575 points to Ferrari’s 428, Red Bull’s 315 and Force India’s 159.

Here are the full standings from yesterday’s race.

1 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 56 1:33:50.991 25
2 5 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 56 +10.143s 18
3 7 Kimi Räikkönen FERRARI 56 +15.779s 15
4 33 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 56 +16.768s 12
5 77 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 56 +34.967s 10
6 31 Esteban Ocon FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 56 +90.980s 8
7 55 Carlos Sainz RENAULT 56 +92.944s 6
8 11 Sergio Perez FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 55 +1 lap 4
9 19 Felipe Massa WILLIAMS MERCEDES 55 +1 lap 2
10 26 Daniil Kvyat TORO ROSSO 55 +1 lap 1
11 18 Lance Stroll WILLIAMS MERCEDES 55 +1 lap 0
12 2 Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN HONDA 55 +1 lap 0
13 39 Brendon Hartley TORO ROSSO 55 +1 lap 0
14 8 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 55 +1 lap 0
15 9 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 55 +1 lap 0
16 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 55 +1 lap 0
NC 14 Fernando Alonso MCLAREN HONDA 24 DNF 0
NC 3 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 14 DNF 0
NC 94 Pascal Wehrlein SAUBER FERRARI 5 DNF 0
NC 27 Nico Hulkenberg RENAULT 3 DNF 0